Making a Course Correction (Again)

For the past several months, I’ve been working on two projects outside the realm of my writing experience. One is my memoir, focusing on the darkest period in my life–a riches to rags account of my journey from bestselling author to homelessness and back. The other is a memoir of sorts of my parakeet, Sam, and his observations on life and living with humans. Though I plan to publish both as books, I’ve decided to test the waters first. Reader reviews on Amazon can be brutal, and I must confess that I don’t have the requisite writers’ thick skin with regard to these two projects that I’ve developed with my novels.

What to do? After giving it some thought, I’ve decided to launch both as blogs, posting a couple of chapters per week. If reader response is positive, then they’ll also be published as books via Amazon.

 
As for my novels, I’ve found that The Unicorn’s Daughter is far and away my best seller, selling more than twice as many books as all of my other novels combined. Even a recent free ebook promotion that included four of my novels yielded similar results worldwide.

For some time now, I’ve been looking for an idea that would provide me with the opportunity to write the type of books Janet Evanovich writes: novels full of action and humor, with protagonists who can carry a series…and I think I’ve finally found them.

I’ve already developed plots for two novels focusing on Jaime from The Unicorn’s Daughter and Darcy from Chasing the Wind–both divorced photojournalists, one a spy as well–using stories taken from today’s headlines. 

This should be fun….

*****

Here are the links to the new  blogs. They’re at WordPress, and comments are welcome!

My Memoir 

Sam’s Story


20 responses

  1. Now this sounds great !
    The plot lines from today news sounds terrific.
    The wonderful cover Collin did makes your book one that people would pick up.
    Fabulous !

    cheers, parsnip

  2. Gayle, you are so right about the cover. When Berkley first published The Unicorn's Daughter (as A Time for Legends), they gave it a cover that was pretty but didn't really say anything about the story. It was not my biggest seller then. But now, with the correct cover and title, it's done great, not just in the US but also in several other countries.

  3. I can't imagine any creative person putting their work out there and not being sensitive to criticism Norma.. Before I head over to read the new blogs.. what a great idea btw.. I had to tell you we picked Aimee up from the airport tonight she was in Sydney for the week, she said she went to see Guardians of the Galaxy at the IMax in Darling Harbour, which apparently is the biggest IMax in the world, who knew.. but she said it was FABULOUS! I knew you would appreciate that 🙂

  4. So far, so good. I've already gotten several new followers for both blogs. It's easier to comment at WordPress than it is at Blogger. They just have to be approved before they appear.

  5. I've learned to be realistic about my novels–not everyone is going to love them, and that's okay. But for works as personal as these, it's a different story.

    I'm not surprised by Aimee's reaction to Guardians. It's a really great movie. (Hey, it had to be–the director's from my hometown–and we have the same birthday!)

  6. As someone working on what she hopes is the final version of her cover, I keep accumulating wisdom – 'pretty but didn't really say anything about the story' is not good.

    My subconscious picks up the little pieces – and then drags me through Google images. I have three separate elements I want to add, a not one image was exactly right – but I think I know what I want, and that's a huge step.

    Congratulations on getting the right cover – it works even at a thumbnail size. Striking.

Leave a Reply

