Slow and Steady Might Win the Race….

I don’t know if anyone’s noticed or not, but I’ve been neglecting my blog for the past few months. Most of my time has been going to finishing Sam’s Story: The Life and Times of a Tiny Bird with a Huge Personality. I’ve also been developing a rather unusual promotional campaign for it.

I detest pushy sales tactics, so I’ve never employed them myself. And while the practical part of my brain knows that we indie authors have to sell ourselves, I’m turned off by authors telling everyone how wonderful their books are. (It’s one thing to have others saying all those great things, but if we’re doing it ourselves, it sounds like a big ol’ ego trip.)

So that left me with a question: how do I sell this book without sounding like I’m just full of BS?

What’s worked so far has been what I call the Anti-Marketing method. I get involved. I go to the websites and Facebook pages of TV shows and movies I’ve seen and give my big mouth a free rein. I go to TV news pages and comment on stories that make me want to throttle somebody. Usually, I generate enough attention to make people curious. I don’t often mention that I’m an author. It’s not necessary, and would probably backfire anyway.

But for Sam’s Story, I wanted to do something different. The idea that came to me is one that, to my knowledge, hasn’t been done before…but should work very well for this kind of book. We’ll see. When the first “ads” start to appear here and on Facebook in the next couple of weeks, let me know what you think!

I celebrated an anniversary last weekend, too–On April 26th, 1985, I sold my first novel–Alexander’s Empire, which Berkley later retitled Dance of the Gods (and I retitled Alexander’s Empire for the ebook edition). That was a real high for me–not only did I sell my first novel, every writer’s dream, but it sold for a lot more than I ever expected to get for my first book–and of the twelve publishers my agent sent it to, eight made offers. See why I never forget that anniversary?

 

7 responses

  1. I’m with you on being turned off by pushy sales tactics. I find mingling and just hanging out on places that interest me is better, too. 😀

    I look forward to seeing what you have planned with Sam’s Story.

    That’s awesome about your first book! That’s very impressive.

Leave a Reply

