A Celebration…and Revelations

First, the celebration. Some months ago, I entered Collin’s cover design for my reissued novel The Unicorn’s Daughter (previously published by Berkley Books in 1990 as A Time for Legends) in a cover art contest at AUTHORSdB. I entered it…and promptly forgot about it, until I received word a couple of days ago that it had made it to the semi-finals!

I’ve been hoping he’d work at making it a full-time business. (I had to promise to never again ask him to do freebies for authors in a financial bind–I did that twice for authors who took their business elsewhere when they could pay for covers. It would have been one thing if they had just been clients–but they were supposedly my friends! With friends like that…you know the rest!). Maybe, if he wins the competition, he’ll pursue it as a career once again. I hope.

As for the revelations…I’ve been working on a memoir for a few months now. It’s not a writing memoir, but one of a very dark time in my life, something I’ve only discussed with my closest friends. It was one of those friends who encouraged me to tell my story, suggesting it might help others in a similar situation. I’ve kept it under wraps until now, wanting to be certain I could do it. Nonfiction isn’t exactly my thing–the truth requires coloring inside the lines, so to speak.

No title yet, and no cover…but soon. Very soon.

18 responses

  1. Collin deserves it. He understands that a pretty picture and a good book cover are not always the same thing.

    Telling all is not an easy thing to do. I had to write as if I were just ding it for my own eyes.

  2. Wonderful news about the book cover Norma, I bet Collin is chuffed about it and quite rightly so! Lots of luck with the memoirs, I can see how much more difficult it would be than fiction, it's putting yourself out there!

  3. Congrats to Collin! The cover really is amazing and truly worthy. About bloggers/friends who wield the back-stabbing knife: I'd like to say I've become immune to this stuff, but I haven't.

    Hey, set that non-fiction story free!

  4. Congrats on the cover contest!!

    Interesting about the memoir project. I may have to come to you for some advice as I've been asked to write a delicate life event story for someone. I'm not sure how to approach it yet, but plan to study up on it over the next few months. It's so different from fiction, but I think if told a certain way, can be very similar as well.

Leave a Reply

