The Ayatollah Came Back, and There Was Bound To Be Trouble….

On this day in 1979, the Ayatollah Khomeini returned to Iran after fifteen years in exile. It was all downhill from there.

On this day in 1978, slimy film director Roman Polanski skipped bail and ran off to France to avoid a rape charge. And some people in the film community still treat him like a hero. Makes one wonder.

On this day in 1969, the Doors’ Jim Morrison was busted for exposing himself during a concert appearance. I wonder how many people in that audience could actually see it?

And on this date in 1981, a baby was born in Canada. That baby was my partner in crime, William Kendall. Yep, he turns 32 today!

I was going to do a This Is Your Life sort of thing for his birthday, but I couldn’t dig up enough dirt in time. Maybe next year!

Seriously…William has been the best friend and collaborator I could have hoped for. He’s tolerated my nasty temper, allowed me to drag him into my battles, and patiently waited until I remembered it was my turn to write a scene for our co-authored novel, Same Time Tomorrow. He edits all of my work because my eyesight’s too bad for me to pick up even minor errors. He does 90% of the work on our joint blog and never complains.

We met a few years back–summer of 2009–on an IMDb message board for the movie Angels & Demons. He liked the movie; I liked Ewan McGregor (okay, I liked the movie, too). We actually started corresponding that fall–October 23rd, to be precise. We send each other cards on that anniversary. How many men remember anniversaries of any kind? That tells you how special he is.

I knew he was a writer right away. There was so much creativity in his posts, it was that obvious. It took a bit of persuading to get him to show me his stuff (get your minds out of the gutter–I’m talking about his writing!), but once he did, I knew I’d been right.

I love being right!

Now, he’s on the brink (I hope) of publishing his first novel, Heaven & Hell. Having read it already, I can tell you it’s one of the best novels I’ve ever read. Yeah, I’m biased–but it really is THAT good! I’ve already written a review for it–just waiting for him to publish it. I keep telling him I hope he does it before I croak–the man’s such a perfectionist, he’s spent as much time editing and proofing it as he did writing it!

Happy Birthday, partner. My life has been made better by having you in it.

17 responses

  1. What a wonderful tribute and post – Happy Birthday to William! May you both enjoy many more years of friendship and writing (also, good luck getting the book out…soon!:)

  2. Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww
    Brillent !
    Wonderful post today and what a great friendship you both have.
    My fist child was born on the 2nd Groundhogs Day so close to Williams.
    Happy Birthday William !

    Don't worry about sharing your birthday with all these people I have Watergate and Nixon, Nancy Pelosi being named Speaker of the House (despise her)and men banned from selling female underwear in Saudi Arabia. WooHoo !
    But Elvis recorded his first demo record, and Sir Edmund Hilliary reached the North Pole. So some good an bad.

    cheers, parsnip

    Let there be cake, woohoo !

    cheers, parsnip

  3. Oh, yes!

    I thank everyone who posted birthday greetings for my partner, and I'm glad you enjoyed our little walk down memory lane. Maybe I should have told you all WHY we ended up corresponding….

Leave a Reply

