A Taste of the Dark Ages

Okay, I may be overstating the problem there.

Collin and I lost our internet service–briefly–a few nights ago.  I first became aware of it when I turned on my Kindle Fire and discovered the little X next to the wi-fi icon at the top of the screen. What did that mean? I’d never seen it before. I looked it up in the owner’s guide.  

 

It meant my Kindle was connected to our wi-fi, but our wi-fi router was connected to…nothing. Huh?

About that time, Collin switched from working in Photoshop to the internet and turned our TV from cable to Roku. He had no internet connection and was unable to stream video.

WTF???

“Contact the provider,” I told him.

“I can’t. The internet’s down,” he reminded me. For Collin, “contact” means live chat, email or text message.

“Use the old-fashioned method,” I suggested. “Call then on the phone.”

That was clearly an if-all-else-fails option. He checked and re-checked every connection we had–even the ones that had nothing to do with our wi-fi setup. I guessed it had something to do with the storm that had passed through a few hours earlier. Kind of a delayed reaction.

I was near panic. Don’t get me wrong–I’m no internet junkie. I could be happy with one or two hours online a day–but to have no time at all was another story. To not be able to use the Roku  or my Kindle was unthinkable.

What would become of us, I wonder, if we were to lose these luxuries–necessities–completely? Any internet junkies out there have any thoughts on that worst-case scenario?

2 responses

Leave a Reply

