The International Intruder…An Equal Opportunity Offender

I’ve introduced a new feature over on my website, Beishir Books. Way back when I was writing Silhouette Romances as Toni Collins, I created a fictional tabloid in one of them, Something Old. It was owned by a vampire (the joke being that all tabloid publishers are bloodsucking monsters). The International Intruder became rather popular with some of my fellow romance writers, who requested permission to feature it in some of their novels as well. This led to letters from readers who guessed: “You all know each other, don’t you?”


Try as we did to deny any such connection, our secret was out. We were having way too much fun with this!


Recently, I read a post on a blog for self-published authors that suggested promoting our books with character interviews and tabloid-style stories about events and characters on our blogs and websites. This gave me the idea to bring the Intruder out of mothballs and put it to good use. Collin quickly designed a nameplate for it….





I posted the first “story,” an interview with the five rowdy Cantwell brothers from An Army of Angels–I hope you’ll check it out! And while you’re there, have a look at the letters from readers I’ve posted!


You’ll also be seeing the Intruder over at the joint blog William Kendall and I created for our alter egos/pseudonyms, Basking in the Afterglow, and quite possibly on William’s blog, Speak of the Devil as well!







19 responses

  1. This is a great idea. What a hoot !
    I rather like the idea of treating the book characters like real people doing stuff outside of the book.
    What is that saying about breaking the forth wall ?

    As you say and Amazon reviews can bring out the worst in some people. Chicken shits ! Anonymous is a cheap shot.
    I personally like and do send out letters and cards. Holding on to real mail is a treat.

    cheers, parsnip

  2. Thanks for reporting your comment, Evie. I've deleted a lot of stuff by clicking too fast, but this is the first time I accidentally deleted a blog comment (that I can remember)!

  3. This is a fun idea…I like the idea of breaking the fourth wall…it's fun and creative. Interviews and playing with characters are a wonderful way of getting others to know them. Love it.

Leave a Reply

