Here We Go Again….

We have two new additions to our family: a Kindle Fire and an Acer Iconia W500 tablet PC.


(This is beyond cool!)

Eleven years ago, I got my first cellphone. I resisted the idea at first. Collin had seen a display for Virgin Mobile phones at Target and decided he wanted one. For him, it made sense. He was working nights at the time and had to walk several blocks from the bus stop to our place–it was a good idea, for safety reasons. I didn’t want one for myself. The idea of having a phone I could carry with me didn’t appeal to me at all. Leaving our phone behind when I went out didn’t bother me at all. But I soon changed my mind and became the proud owner of a very simple little phone that didn’t do anything but make calls and send text messages.


That was good enough. For a while, anyway.

Three years later, Collin decided he wanted to trade up. The new phones also took pictures, had cool ringtones and limited web access. Okay, I was again sold. And I chose a special ringtone for people I didn’t really want to talk to: the sound of a flushing toilet. If I was going to be stuck with nuisance calls, I was going to at least get a laugh out of them. And I became very good at composing messages with a limited keypad–I could do it accurately without even looking at it.It took me a while to get used to a QWERTY keyboard again!

Then, in 2009, when April came to stay with us, Collin wanted a phone like hers–a T-Mobile Sidekick. This time, we didn’t get the same kind of phone. I opted for the Dash, which was a lot like the Blackberry I’d been craving after hearing an author being interviewed on TV talk about composing part of her novel on hers. Unlike the Blackberry, it had Windows Mobile–easier to sync with my computer. I loved my Dash, and even after my next phone came along, I continued to use it for editing and for email in wi-fi areas until very recently.

Late in 2010, Collin decided he wanted an Android. I wasn’t interested–at first. Once I saw all his phone could do, I quickly changed my mind, so he got me one for Christmas. It took me about a year to learn how to use it without screaming for help (I am, after all, a technomoron!), but I was convinced I finally had one device that could do everything.

Then Collin decided he wanted a tablet.


(He took this photo. I wish he’d turned it on. The wallpaper is gorgeous.)

It wasn’t a frivolous thing. His little netbook didn’t have the RAM to handle Photoshop and other programs and files he needs for his graphic arts work. He’d first decided on a desktop–then discovered the Iconia had twice the RAM as his netbook. It has, in fact, everything he needs and is portable (we like being able to work in the living room, parked in front of the TV–what can I say?)

Tired of getting the “memory nearly full” message on my Android–in spite of the 16GB memory card that supposedly held most of the apps as well as my files–I toyed with the notion of getting a tablet to accommodate the larger apps, like Kindle and Audible. I decided on a very inexpensive model. Collin talked me out of that. He pointed out that warranties are almost nonexistent for off-brands, as is tech support. He felt I should go with the Kindle Fire. Along with being able to read and listen to books, I have web access and can use it for writing and editing. Β And it has games and other apps–I’m especially fond of Birdland.

I am so glad I took his advice!

So once again, we have a bunch of gadgets for which we have no use. Each new arrival has more and more capabilities, making things like cameras, digital voice recorders, etc. unnecessary. Mind you, these are perfectly good devices that have had good maintenance and little use. We still have all of our old cellphones–unlike many people, I don’t throw stuff away if it’s still in good working order. I suppose we could have an electronics yard sale….


15 responses

  1. I wish I'd held out for the Iphone…but, I do like most things about my android…only that I wish I had more memory and a faster internet connection (mine's like nil compared to hubby's Iphone…)…

    I think if I get another 'gadget', I'm holding out for a laptop…

    Glad you like your new gadgets though!! I love my Kindle…even if it is the plain-Jane one.

  2. Your so funny….
    Your life based on technology ! I like your trip through cyber space.
    So much useful information.
    But I must admit when I read this in several places my mind went blank and I read blahblah blah… focus please brain.
    When I look at these phones I think they are cute and fun but I really wouldn't use them.
    I make phone calls, take a few photos/videos and that's about it. I do like some of the photo apps on the iphone and would like that but the phone would be useless in my hands.

    I am thinking if I was a writer, like you then some of this technology seems useful.

    I spend way too much time of my computer, that I don't feel like I should waste more time on phones, kindles, ipad or tablets. I just know how to use them.

    My car was hit by a driver playing with his phone and not looking where he was driving plus he was changing lanes at the time too !
    I think some/most ? people can't seem to disconnect from the gadgets and see the world around them…
    When I have some free time I want to spend it in my studio.
    Not staring at a screen although I do use my computer for printing my work.
    I think I am a Luddite… maybe ?

    cheers, parsnip

  3. More? Oh my…I still haven't figured out my I-phone totally and Sweetman has it so I can't respond to my Twitter, Facebook and e-mail accounts…and that's why I wanted one to begin with so I keep up with my friends while at work.

  4. Beth–you probably just need a larger memory card you can transfer a lot of your apps to. I have a 16GB and a 32GB. My biggest gripe has always been batteries that crap out too quickly…so I bought two extra batteries (I got an amazing deal at Amazon!) and keep them charged at all times.

  5. I don't even take my phone out when I'm walking! With my luck, I'd fall through a manhole or something.

    As dependent as I am on my gadgets, I'm not addicted as many people are. If I couldn't get online for a day, it wouldn't bother me.

    I was almost hit by a woman talking on her cell while driving. I did take her license number–I should have called the police on her.

  6. Norma,

    Thanks for sharing your technological evolution with us! I have been trying to get used to all of this technology which just keeps evolving overnight! there are some amazing gadgets out there, if we can learn how to use them correctly! I'm still working on that one myself. Take care!

  7. Hi! Great post, I can relate a lot. πŸ™‚ Just had to let you know in case you don't yet: Amazon has a recycle for credit program now!!! So our huuuuge collection of kind-of-obsolete electronics that still work great? That's right, we're trading up for …yet MORE gadgets. Of course! πŸ˜€ Haha but at least we're saving some dough.

    Enjoying your blog, here from Desert Rocks' adorable chocolate box. Happy Valentine's Day!

  8. Hi! Great post, I can relate a lot. πŸ™‚ Just had to let you know in case you don't yet: Amazon has a recycle for credit program now!!! So our huuuuge collection of kind-of-obsolete electronics that still work great? That's right, we're trading up for …yet MORE gadgets. Of course! πŸ˜€ Haha but at least we're saving some dough.

    Enjoying your blog, here from Desert Rocks' adorable chocolate box. Happy Valentine's Day!

  9. Hi! Great post, I can relate a lot. πŸ™‚ Just had to let you know in case you don't yet: Amazon has a recycle for credit program now!!! So our huuuuge collection of kind-of-obsolete electronics that still work great? That's right, we're trading up for …yet MORE gadgets. Of course! πŸ˜€ Haha but at least we're saving some dough.

    Enjoying your blog, here from Desert Rocks' adorable chocolate box. Happy Valentine's Day!

Leave a Reply

